Intarsia Dotted Sweater Dress

null
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by adorable sweaterdress I love the design of this dress! I ordered it online in an XS (regular sizing). The material is soft and didn't itch me and the colors are exactly as pictured online. This hit me mid knee so I thought the length was perfect. I could wear this to work and dress it with tights/boots in colder weather. I am 5'4" around 125lbs,34B for reference. The dress is a little big on me on top/waist -- maybe I should try the petite, but I could belt this for a more defined waist. If you have a shorter torso or are 5'4" or shorter - I'd recommend the petite. The fabric is stretchy and the skirt is roomy so I would say this runs true to size to on the larger side. This is made by Sparrow. I think this is too cute to wait for sale time. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the design! I can see how some people may not like how this knit feels on their skin, but if you can get past that, it is a wonderful and interesting dress! The pattern brings the focus precisely to the waist, which is where I prefer. It is a great dress for everyone. The knit is not itchy, but it is not as soft as I like. (I prefer cotton and natural fibers.) I still LOVE this dress! I ordered my normal size and was pleased with the fit. There is enough room while still enhancing the shape you want. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cute at first but... The colors are lovely and the dress is flattering on my hourglass figure. I am 5'4", 160 and a medium fit well, so I would say runs a little big. But, after the first wear, there were patches of pilled/rubbed fabric that make it look shabby. I have a feeling this will be one of those pieces you can only wear once before it looks worn and yucky. It might not bother me so much if it were a cheap dress, but for the $150, would expect it to last longer than 1 wear. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful! When I saw this dress online, I knew I had to have it. It said online exclusive, but then it showed up in my store. Thanks a lot Anthro! I had to pay shipping because of this. ;( On to the dress....It fits beautifully. I ordered the regular xs and the petite small. I am 5'4", 34D, (38/28/38) and the regular xs fit me perfectly. The petite looked horrible! It was way too short and poofy, and made me look like a little girl with a lollipop. The regular had a nice flow to the skirt and hung well. The hem hits me right above the knee. I am an hourglass, so the dress defined my waist quite well. I do not find the knit itchy at all. I think this will be one of those dresses I'll be wearing all winter long. October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Flattering on an apple figure I don't know what it is about the pattern on this dress that makes it so flattering on my round size 14/16 body. It's adorable. The a-line covers the belly and the black portion seems to create a waist and draw attention away from my DDs. It is a sweater dress, so it does show some "back fat" around my bra. A shaper will fix that easily. The fabric is heavy enough that there isn't as much back fat as there would be with a lighter knit. I love Anthro and since I've gained weight, not many of their styles fit properly anymore, but this is a winner! October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyday awesome This dress has great shape, feels really soft, and I love the quirky pattern. It looks great with stockings and shoes as in the picture and also with tights and boots. I ordered the medium and the small and I'm glad I did; the medium was too roomy up top. (I'm 5'9", a 36C and have a small-ish waist, but I'm 41 and definitely not in perfect shape!) The skirt has a nice swish, very forgiving of flaws, unlike many other sweater dresses. Love it. November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing dress! The colors in this dress are divine! It fits like a dream, is super comfy and I cannot wait to wear it! I will pair it with colored tights and tall boots once it cools down. I highly recommend - it's very flattering! September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Right Little Dress I'm very pleased with this dress! I'm tall and it hits just above my knee, not too short, the pattern is flattering on top and the skirt has a little volume but does not add bulk. I like the sweater/knit fabric, moves well. You can style this dress to be more funky or a little more sweet depending on your shoes and accessories. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suggesting a sweater to wear with dress Try the Dankov cabled blazer with this dress. It was hanging with the dress in the store and they are perfect together. December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by cute, interesting dress, but some problems This dress looks so great in the catalog, and I wasn't sure about it, but I ordered it anyhow. Of course, now it's available in stores. I can say I don't think I would have bought this had I been able to try it on. The design is really cute, but I find it to be a bit too large on top and a bit wide in the shoulders. It is also very itchy to me. I may try wearing it with a slip, which may help that problem and also the sizing problem. I have tried belting it, which helps immensely, but I can't find a belt that looks right with the colors. I bought the suggested belt in the red shade, and it is very far from the red tone in the dress. I can't decide if I like it. Ultimately, I think I will wear it but this is a hard dress to accessorize! October 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE this dress! Just grabbed this dress on sale in my local store this weekend, and I'm so glad I snagged it! It's a very flattering shape on fuller-figures (does some minimizing up top that I love) and the material is nice and thick without being at all itchy. Was also glad to see this in an XL, even though it doesn't seem to be sold in XL online. I'm a 16/18 and am usually sized out at Anthro (especially lately) but occasionally find a gem like this dress that fits perfectly and looks great. Wish Anthro made more dresses like this one in larger sizes! February 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best everyday dress I never open my emails from Anthro. They're dangerous; I always see something I want. But I made a mistake and opened this one. I saw this dress and thought there was a 50/50 chance I would like it. I ordered it anyway. I put it on the second it arrived and liked it so much I wore it right to work that day. I have never received so many compliments on a dress. I thought it was so-so in the pictures, but it's just perfect on. I got the belt it was shown with in the catalog, in maroon instead of green. They look like they belong together. November 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dress, great customer service The dress is lovely and will look great at happy hour or at the office. Based on the image on the website, I had thought the yoke was a fuschia color. Now I see that it's actually alternating stripes of orange and charcoal, which, believe it or not, I also like. I bought this dress three days ago at full price, only to discover it on sale today at a 25% discount. Customer service was able to award me the difference because my purchase was fewer than 14 days old. Thanks, Anthropologie, for being so responsive to customers' needs. November 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Pattern I've had my eyes on this dress for the longest, and I finally got the chance to try it on at Anthro. It's a very lovely dress - the pattern is beautiful, the material isn't itchy or clingy, and the length is absolutely perfect for fall going into winter. I'm a TTS 6 in dresses at Anthro, and I tried on both the M and the S. If you're in between sizes, I highly recommend you size down, because the M was shapeless on me, and the S fit great. The only complaint I had about it is that the back of the dress by the neck gaped for me a little bit, and was a little uncomfortable. Also, the waist isn't very defined in this, but it is a sweaterdress, so it's something I can deal with. Other than that, I don't have anything bad to say about the dress, but I think I'll wait for sale if I do get it. October 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Work Dress Ordered online as part of my first order from Anthro - wearing it to work today with a denim jacket! Great colours, very comfortable and as we are just going into Spring a great fabric to wear when temperatures are a bit all over the place. The sizing advice is spot on. And the price is very good for quality of work. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So flattering, not itchy, great design! Love, love love this dress. Yes, it's expensive, but it's high quality. And it makes my bigger frame look ladylike, so major points. I'm a 14/16 and the XL is maybe a teensy bit generous, but skims over my flaws nicely. Nips in so beautifully at the waist, creating a very flattering silohuette. I'm usually super picky about itchy fabrics, and this does not bother me at all, which is surprising, given it has wool in it. Highly recommend this multi-season piece! October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This definately looks better on than the hanger. This is one of my favorite labels that Anthro carries, they always create fun sweater dresses and sweaters. This dress fits TTS, I like the length, at 5' 7" it fits above the knee for me which I like. I like that this can be worn more on the conservative side if you want to wear it in an office enviornment or winter wedding etc but you can "funky" it up with some tights, boots and a belt! :-) October 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute and casual I have to say, I was really skeptical about this dress even after I ordered it. I was worried about the pattern and the feel of the material after previous reviews. I have to say that once I put it on I was quite happy. It doesn't itch at all and is a cute and comfortable piece. My only complaint is that it is a bit loose around the waist and could probably be fixed with a belt but I haven't found the right one just yet for that. September 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Maybe for someone else I was so excited to see this dress when it came out. I liked that it went to the knee and also that it had sleeves. I thought it would be awesome with tall boots and a scarf for winter as well. I was sadly disappointed when I put it on. It looked okay from the front but when I turned to the side the waist is so short that it didn't drop to the thinnest part of me and it made it look frumpy. For reference I have a short waist myself even though I'm taller than average at 5'7" and I don't weigh a ton (130 lbs) It just hit me in all the wrong places. The sleeves stopped on the fullest part of my arm which wasn't flattering either as I lift weights and it made it look fat . I think if someone with skinny arms were to try it, it might look better. The dress itself seemed good quality and a nice design just not for me. Try it out though. Might be your lucky day. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So happy with this dress! I cannot think of one negative thing to say about this dress! The colors are beautiful, the fit is very flattering, and the fabric is comfortable. I paired this with riding boots, magenta tights and a wide, brown belt for a more casual look. It is the perfect fall/winter dress day or night. I feel the quality and fit make it worth the price. If you are on the line with this one, go ahead and get it! November 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Itchy and short September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by stand-out dress this is a unique dress and i really like it. it's not itchy at all. I normally wear size 4 in dresses but bought XS in this one because i liked it fitted in the upper body and the skirt is still fitting right, and it looks very flattering. I'm 5'9" and the waist sits at my natural waist which I'm very pleased with... Highly recommended!!! Looks better in person than in the picture December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not your typical sweater dress I love the look and feel of this dress. The knit is substantial enough for cooler Fall weather, yet not at all bulky. The cut is flattering for my petite frame. The colors are fun and they can be dressed up or down. I gave this dress to myself to wear on my birthday; the many compliments I received made it a gift that kept on giving. I recommend you treat yourself to this dress. October 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little itchy, a little boxy I hoped to love this cute dress based on the reviews, but I found it to be slightly itchy and a little boxy. I also didn't like the way it looked with a cardigan over it, which made it less versatile for cooler days. I generally love Sparrow products, but this one wasn't quite right for my shape. However, the quality was good, and I found the fit true to size. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very cute, but not inexpensive This is a very cute dress although a bit on the short side for my 5'11" frame (above the knee). It will get a lot of compliments I am sure. I was relieved to find it was not too itchy as noted by some other reviewers. If you can get past the price it will be a great go to dress for all sorts of occasions. Lots of ways to change it up. November 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cute fall dress I did not find the dress itchy, it's really cute for fall, looks great with boots and fit was nice on an hourglass shape. Was not tight around the hips, a bit loose in the waist but easy enough to fix by belting it and not enough that I wanted to size down. Length was perfect, at the knee. September 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I really wanted to love this dress, but it didn't work at all. The fit of the dress was very accurate and it was quite comfy, but the line of colorblocking at the top was NOT flattering. I was expecting a sweetheart type look, but... no. It made my chest look very silly. December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Initally I ordered an XS in this dress. It felt a little snug around the shoulders so I exchanged it for a S and the fit is perfect. I am technically petite, but short waisted and I found that the regular fit suited me better. This dress runs a little on the short side. October 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flatters a full figure As a size 14-16, I typically never even consider anything smaller than a 14 or XL at Anthro. After reading the reviews from other full-figured ladies that the L was a flattering fit on them, I went to my local store and tried it out. I wanted to write this review to reiterate their comments. I'm so glad I gave this dress a chance, because minus the cap sleeves, I love everything about the dress. It's a thick, quality wool blend with a good amount of stretch, but not the kind of stretch that warps the shape of the garment. It's a fitted dress cut for an hourglass figure. I didn't find a belt necessary to create a waist, but my hips are significantly wider than my waist anyways. The fit-and-flare style, which I'm loving more and more, does a nice job of masking a tummy. It's cutesy and girlish, but the darker colors and interesting print patches make it more grown up. I plan to wear it with tights, mary-janes, and a cardigan to keep warm through the winter months. Note that the wool blend makes this a cooler weather dress. November 12, 2012
See more reviews: <<prev 2 3 next>>
BLUE MOTIF Style #:25941899 When it comes to fall and winter knits, we've got two things on the brain: comfort and convenience (impeccable style is the unspoken third, of course). We love cozy, throw-on-and-go dresses paired with color-pop tights when the weather chills, like this one from Sparrow. Intarsia Dotted Sweater Dress