Sweater-Back Army Jacket

null
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 19 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by better in person. This jacket is amazing! And yes, it runs rather large, but it's an army jacket so its design is inherently boxy/roomy. I normally wear a small and an xs is still roomy on me. But the overall look of this jacket makes the over-sized nature worth it. The knit portion is even better in person and this jacket is definitely an attention grabber (in a good way!). i have yet to wear it out and not be stopped by someone wondering where i got it. Even with the back portion being a bit more "open" due to the larger knit, this jacket still keeps you warm. It is a nice balance of materials. Plus the back just adds a bit more comfort to a somewhat stiff piece. If you're thinking about it go for it - just downsize at least one size! October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE + ALL SMILES This jacket is truly amazing as I love the ecletic mix of casual military jacket and sweater cardi. September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweater-Back Army Jacket Really cool, unique jacket. Not particularly warm so best for fall or warmer climates. Runs very very large. I would recommend sizing down at least one size, if not two. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fits great for plus size girls I'm 5'7" and size 16. I bought the size LARGE This coat fits great and I still have a little room to wear a sweater etc if I need to underneath. The sweater back is truly a sweater-ed back. Like no coat lining, all sweater. It allows for extra stretch if you need it. I don't think it looks boxy on me like others have mentioned. It's light weight and I can't wait to wear it. Get it plus sized girls if you're thinking about it. It's really funky! January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sweater for the Bigger Girls This sweater jacket is definitely cut like a standard army jacket, quite boxy. But the back is sooo beautiful that it balances out the squareness of the design. The length hit me around the hip and it was so comfortable that I didn't want to take it off. I started off trying a small as I was told by the SA it runs large. The fit had a relaxed fit with enough room for a sweater underneath. I also felt I could have sized down to an extra small, a first for me. I felt that the jacket looked better buttoned up as it made me look quite wide when I left it open. Small framed gals will either have to like this on the loose side or will be sized out. For reference, I am a 36DDD and weigh 130 lbs. September 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing idea, wish back was lined! Agree with other reviewers, this coat is amazing! Saw it online but wanted to see in person before making the plunge--glad I did. Same thoughts on sizing--I typically am a L in coats but tried a S and could still button it up and had plenty of room in shoulders. I was really surprised the back sweater section was not lined, or laid on top of coat back. All the coats in the store were starting to stretch out in the knit section, and many had pulls from the hangers and buttons. It is a heavy knit, but due to heavier gauge and nothing to support it, this piece will to be as durable as a true "coat". October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total Love I am glad I listened to the previous reviewers and sized down to a Medium for this terrific fall jacket. Boxy, yes, but it is modeled after an army jacket. The back sweater piece is so unique. This jacket lives at home in the western states but I'll this with knee boots or ankle boots, thin thermal shirt and skinny jeans in Chicago. It's a great statement jacket. September 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome, Stylish Statement Jacket I wanted to order the XS based on reviews that it runs big. I am between an XS and S. The XS was sold out, so I tried the Small. Glad I did. Yes, its generously sized, but I think it looks great with skinny jeans and boots. The generous cut makes a statement. It still hangs nice and straight down, flattering (not wide and frumpy...) January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Army jacket? This is a military inspired, jacket. I would never call this army! Very sophisticated, and stylish, runs a little bit large, but over-sized seems appropriate, The sweater back is beautiful, and elevates this to more than casual. Good for work or weekend, I will get miles out of this one! Purchased on sale this is a solid value. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by army jacket This jacket is oversized, but that's how an army jacket should be. I can put a long-sleeved tee or a lightweight sweater under it, and I still have plenty of room to move. I'm 5'4", so I did roll the sleeves one more time. Looks great with leggings and boots! If you like your jackets really fitted, you might size down.. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jacket I was so excited to purchase this jacket. It looked like a cute design. But, this jacket fits HUGE. I purchased my normal size S and it was really big and not at all flattering. It is very boxy and does nothing to the body. They sold out in XS so I will be skipping this one. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stalked until it went on sale Army type jackets can be a little boring style-wise so I loved this from the 1st time I saw it. I tried it on in store and found it to run quite large. I get a M in most items and a Sm worked perfectly for me in this. I decided not to get it at full price but had been watching for it to go on sale. As soon as it did I snatched it up and so glad I did. It's a great jacket to throw on to spruce up just a tee and jeans for running errands or whatever. Probably the only thing I would change is the mismatched buttons on the front. It does make it a little different, but, I'd probably go with matching if I had a choice. They do include an extra button with the jacket, so you could change out the ivory button if you wanted to... Good weight- will work for spring and winter days that aren't too bad... Quality seems to be great as well although I've only worn a couple times so far. I would imagine you'd have to be mindful of the jacket to minimize snagging just like any other chunky knit sweater. Overall, very glad I got this! January 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really wearable "piece" I snagged this jacket a bit ago and have been loving it more with each wear. A couple of things to know: * it runs pretty big. I sized down to a medium (I normally wear an 8 or 10 in blouses or jackets, due to broad shoulders and bust), but wonder if I could use the small. The only thing that makes me feel great about the medium is that I wouldn't want to stretch the sweater back. * I'm 5'6" and the length is perfect on me. If you're petite, I'd beware. Also, if your normal size is an extra small, I wouldn't get your hopes up. Oversized is a word that comes to mind... * be careful when you hang this jacket: I try to set the hanger on the seam of the jacket, not touching the sweater part. Again, I don't want to stretch the knit. * other than that, have fun with it. I wore mine out the other night to go to a pro basket ball game with high waisted denim flares, cream blouse, bib necklace and a saddle colored bag. I also foresee wearing it to concerts, shows and weekends of bumming around. It's a perfect causal jacket with a twist... January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice twist, runs huge I am petite. Therefore, this was never going to work for me. The medium (and I usually wear a petite 10 or 12) was HUGE. I believe I probably could have pulled off an XS. I loved the print and the look, but didn't have a chance to try the proper size. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is huge! I ordered a large (usually wear a large or extra large). It is huge. I never wear a a medium but I think I could have worn one in this coat. I will keep the large so I can wear something thick under it. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful graphic design surprise I tried on this jacket in the store and it fit me perfectly. The design on the back is unique and striking. I am also a fatigue green fan so the combination seemed right. September 24, 2012
See more reviews: <<prev 2next
MOSS Style #:25344078 Sweater-Back Army Jacket