Flared Anabelle Dress

null
Rated 4.6 out of 5áby 57 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5áby Classic Beauty! Beautiful dress! A bit high wasted. At 5'9", I am mostly legs and am used to clothing sitting at my hips. The waste of this dress is right at my waist, a bit above even. Definitely calls for a belt. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Fabulous! I bought this dress on Saturday, and I absolutely adore it - it will be perfect for an upcoming Labor Day wedding! I bought a pair of drop cluster rhinestone earrings from the store to wear with it, and just ordered a pair of nude pumps. What color belt are ladies pairing with this? I am leaning toward a fun yellow for a splash of color. I am 5'3", 33 in waist, 34DDD, and the 10 in this dress makes me look VERY statuesque, especially once the heels are added. I disagree with the reviewers who thought this dress wouldn't work on a short lady - maybe the curves on top help? I'd love to hear what accessories folks are pairing with this! August 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Get this while you can! Beautiful color and feel of the fabric make this a comfortable dress appropriate for any occasion ( wedding, graduation , shower, etc) I usually wear 6 or 8 for most dresses. I ordered the 6 petite so it wouldn't be so long. My measurements are 34 B -29 waist and it fits perfectly. I hope the belt goes on sale that it is styled with in the catalogue. August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Adorable! I have been obsessed with this dress since I first spied it on the rack. It is so girlie and sweet I was instantly drawn to the simple cut and lovely colors. The dress is meant to be fitted on top and in the waist with a flared skirt. I took my usual size 0 and the dress fit amazingly well. I am rather long-waisted and I find many Anthro dresses are made for ladies who are short-waisted. I did not find that to be an issue with this dress. I love a dress with a twirly skirt, so this dress was perfect for me. It is very comfortable and very flattering. Plus, it is on sale now so it is the perfect time to add it to your wardrobe! :) August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Amazing dress-Kate Middleton may want to buy this! Beautiful dress! I was hesitant at first because the dress is very full and being a petite lady, I wasn't sure how it will look on me. I slipped it on in the fitting room and fell in love instantly!!! The fullness of the dress did not overwhelm my petite figure. The length of the dress was just right! I am usually a petite 0 but they didn't have it in the store so I bought a regular 0 and had the top taken in. I wore this dress to a fundraiser and received a lot of compliment! Great job, Anthro! August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Moody blues. This is a very, very beautiful dress that I initially overlooked until it hit the sale rack. I love the vintagy vibe with the full swing skirt and modest top with tie neck, but I really loved was the really, really beautiful blue color and pattern placement that make the dress look like a work of art. The construction of the dress is amazing, with a built in slip with tiny straps, pockets in the skirt, a blessed back zipper for a change, and a neck that ties in the back. The dress seems to run a tad big, I'm wearing a 6 in the picture, but probably should have gotten the 4 because the waist was a little big. (I think I'll just take in the waist or belt it however, since it fit fine in the chest.) For reference, I'm 5'3 and you can see this is below the knees on me. A wonderful dress, especially at the new sale price. August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby POCKETS After months and months of searching for a dress for a summer wedding, I took a chance and tried this on in store and fell in love, but the price tag scared me off a bit and found it to be a bit long on me (5'4), especially in flats. After sleeping on it and having the dress haunt my dreams, I ended up ordering the dress in a 0P online. When it arrived and it was a little tight around the ribcage, I decided to return the dress in store and opt for the 0 Regular. Even with the high price tag, I have no regrets. I ended up wearing it to the wedding with red satin peep toes (as someone else suggested), when I couldn't find any other shoes that would do. The dress was a hit and received a handful of compliments about how beautiful it was. I felt like Betty Draper throwing a garden party in the dress. Also, with the pockets and because the dress is so flowy, you can throw your iPhone in there and not have it look awkwardly bulky. July 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Fantastic dress! I saw this dress on the hanger and fell in love with the look but thought it would be awful on me. I took it to the dressing room just to see....and POW! The dress looked fantastic! The fit is flattering, nipping in at the waist and then blossoming out into a full, swirly skirt--and with pockets! It'll look perfect with my navy patent wedge sandals. Lots of others complain about it being short waisted and I'm long waisted--but I didn't have any trouble with the fit. I think perhaps it runs a bit big...I went with a size 0 and I am 5'7" with a 34B bust. Fits perfectly. Will be wearing it out this weekend and to my brother's wedding later this summer. Perfection! July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Loved it The catalog photo of this dress absolutely caputures the movement and elegance of this dress. Needs a belt, but this will not be a problem I already found a art deco black belt and silk flower belt from another store already in my closet that will work. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby gorgeous dress, but not for the long-waisted Some fabrics you have to see in person to appreciate! The blues in this print are vivid and gorgeous. Well made, cleverly designed and stunning dress ... runs a little roomy, especially in the hips which I like ... but, sadly, it was too short-waisted for me. The waist hugged my lower ribcage, then the full skirt flared out well above my hips, making me look a little bit like a 5'10" lampshade. So sad to have to return it ... on a somewhat shorter torso than mine, this will be a beautiful, wildly figure-flattering summer dress. Enjoy this one for me. July 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5áby Beautiful dress, runs short waisted I purchased this gorgeous dress in a size 0P, my usual size (I am 5'2", 97 lb, 32C). Surprisingly, I found it to be short waisted on me. I would have preferred the torso to be longer and hit at my natural waist like the catalog shot. The length was appropriate, about knee-length, but I ended up returning this. I am going to try my luck with a regular size 0. July 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5áby Too small Sent this one back. It was way too small and not the quality I expected from a $200 dress. July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Vintage feel This dress is a classic and a show-stopper all in one. With hot pink heels and belt, even more so. It is a little short waisted but it still works. The material and the vintage feel make it all come together. Material is light but not in a cheap way. Refreshing and airy way. My favorite purchase so far year to date. I imagine it would work great for a bridal shower or wedding. June 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Hip for girls with a little more to shake! First thing I picked off the rack when I walked in the store & thought, "no way I'm buying this until it's on sale..." Then I put it on and couldn't take it off. The short-waist bodice and plunging V-neck line flatters those of us with hour-glass figures by drawing the eye to your skinner waist and away from your hips & thighs. The cut is classic - it will never go out of style. It's a piece that you can keep in your wardrobe for a long time and pair with lots of fun colors - I love wearing mine with orange wedges & belt. It's rare that I break my rule of not buying anything unless it's on sale, but it's even more rare that I find a piece this perfect for my body type. It was worth it! June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Great style I love this dress. The colors are beautiful - reminding me of water. The style is perfection. I love the fitted bodice and the swingy skirt, which has just the perfect amount of fullness. The tie at the back of the neck is a nice touch. This is a nice 40s style that looks great with peep toe platforms. I ordered a 6p and it fits me TTS although the chest is a bit snug (34C). It is high waisted, but it fits well on my 5'1" frame. The skirt is a bit long so I'm debating about having it shortened. August 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5áby so nice Like some other reviewers, I found this to be short waisted. WHAT? I am short waisted, how could this be short waisted on ME? Dunno, but it is. Still, it's got good color, nice quality fabric, and it's swirly! Maybe if you sized up the waist would be longer? ps It's listed as out of stock, but there are plenty in the Short Hills NJ store. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Worth the bucks I was thrilled to find this little number because I love vintage dresses, but find that they are often too small for me or that the material is itchy or hard to care for. Pros: color (i love blue hydrangeas - had them in my wedding bouquet - but the color of this dress is closer to the peacock blue ink I used to have in my fountain pen. It's a gorgeous, almost translucent blue); vintage style; feminine but gives coverage; love the slip/lining in the bodice with the adjustable straps, which prevents your bra from being visible through the armhole. Cons: some gaping in back. I measure 37, 30, 42, and I am short waisted. I found that the regular 12 fit in the waist, but had some strange gaping in the back. I do not think the problem was that I needed a petite, as the dress was still a little short waisted even on me. I loved the dress enough to keep it and take it for alterations, and the seamstress mentioned that the dress is sewn on the bias and probably stretched out (the gaping was more apparent on one side than the other). I mention this in case other folks find similar issues that don't seem to be resolved by switching to a petite. As for shoes, I opted for red, retro mary jane pumps, and found that my grandmother's Trifari choker from the 1950s worked perfectly with the neckline and style of the dress. June 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5áby Classy, Beautiful, Retro I debated on this dress for awhile, as it is very long (even the petite version) but I couldn't get past the colors in it - just as brilliant and gorgeous in person. Love the neckline and how it ties in the back. It is rather expensive for cotton, but it's a cooler dress to wear in the hot Texas summer. It just has a wonderfully vintage, classy look to it, love how it moves as you walk. Flattering for fuller figure types. Wound up being a must-have! June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Wonderful Summer Dress I tried this dress on in store and decided not to purchase it because of the price. I loved the fit, color, the way it looked when I twirled, EVERYTHING! But I left empty handed. After talking to anyone and everyone I know about how lovely it was, I decided to go back the very next day and buy it and I'm so happy that I did. The cotton is wonderful and I love how versatile it is. Dress it down: woven black/brown belt and black/brown sandals For the Office: Nude heels, simple jewelry Out on the town: Strappy high heels and lots of jewels I have a few weddings to go to this summer and this dress will be going with me. I'm going to be sad to put it away for winter. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Subtly Sexy, Simply Superb Fabric is sumptuous and the pattern is very beautiful. I paired it with a wide braided gold belt and gold sandals, to give it some kick. The top accentuates the shape if you are busty and the high waist and flowing skirt make for a superb silhouette. Perfect for hourglass gals. But, don't tie the little bow on the back of the neck too tight or you will feel pull all day, like a halter tied too tight. The sleeves are flattering for those of us whose upper arms may not be quite like Michelle's guns. The length is very flattering on my 5'6" height. I wear a size 12 (38DD bosom, smallish waist at around 33" ). All in all - I love this dress! Fit, fabric, floral and finish! GREAT summer dress. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby A picture of perfection Wow. I was drawn to the pretty blue, but I had no idea the gorgeous shape it had. Measurements: 32D-26-36 I tried my usual 2, and it was perfect, so this is TTS. There's something a bit retro about this to me - maybe it's the large amount of comfy fabric in the skirt. I'm sort of speechless with this dress. For something with so much fabric, it really is sexy. The back detail is so well-done. Everything about this dress screams perfection. I looked in the mirror and thought, "Wow, it looks like I'm a girl with it all figured out." Unfortunately, I was window-shopping when I tried this on, but maybe it will go on sale? Please? June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Most beautiful dress I own! I stopped in my tracks when I saw this dress in the store. The ultramarine print is stunning--rich and gorgeous. I think my exact words were, "It looks like an Impressionist painting!" And then the fit...the shape. The neckline is amazing, and that full skirt--it's perfect for twirling! I like the longer length, too. It's overall a very vintage shape, and since I have a vintage body shape (hourglass!), it works perfectly. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Get ready for complements! This dress is beautiful and flattering. I've received multiple complements when I've worn it. The color pattern is eye catching but combined with the style of dress, it is a knock out. I've a 36 inch bust, 140 lbs and took a size six. It fits beautifully. One surprise: I wore it without a slip during a really hot day and found that there's enough fabric that I wasn't exposed. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Oh my. Am I trying on the same dress as the rest of you? So many people have commented that this dress is short-waisted, and listen, short-waistiness is a very serious problem for me, what with my tallness and my chestiness. I tried this one on with a twinge of sadness, expecting it to look too short-waisted on me, but to my joy and amazement, it fit me like a dream, flattered the crud out of me, and made me want to French myself in the dressing-room mirror. I mean, this is one HOT dress. Why did fashioner ever drift away from this kind of silhouette? It was Twiggy's fault, wasn't it? Again! She ruined everything! Curse her for being so adorable! This dress gives such a gorgeous, flattering shape. It's made of a luscious silk-cotton blend that manages to feel soft and substantial at the same time. The deep V in front is narrow enough that it doesn't really expose anything, and doesn't look a bit revealing. The tie/keyhole back is the perfect subtle yet unique finishing touch. And the colors -- oh my goodness. Everything about this dress is to die for. This one is definitely coming to live with me. It will work for the office with its past-the-knee length and will transition to non-work wear just as easily. A dress this gorgeous and versatile for this price can't be beat! June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Stunning! This dress is simply a stunner! I was skeptical about trying it on at first because of the price, but I couldn't help myself it was just so beautiful. The design is even more breathtaking in person and the material is light and airy (after seeing the picture online I was afraid it would be a little heavy or thick). I tried on a twelve, but it was a little tight so the people at my anthropologie took my information and a store in tennessee had the coveted fourteen I was looking for! Everyone was super helpful and I am now awaiting my dress in the mail! Even my mom (who thinks spending more than $25 on a dress is too much) said she would be extremely disappointed if I didn't get the dress. Its perfect for a lot of weddings and dressy events I have coming up this summer! Cannot WAIT until it arrives. I suggest getting it while you can, you'll definitely regret chancing the wait! May 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Pretty on hanger and flattering on body I really fell for this dress when I saw it in the catalog. It's very feminine and also a little quirky (in the styling of the neck, and vibrant print). The dress was a little bit of a splurge for me -- it really does require a belt (I ended up going with the beaded one that it's paired with in the catalog, after trying on several) -- so, all told I spent around $250 on the whole outfit. But I have a couple of special occasions coming up in the near future, so I'm hoping I can get some good use out of it. Looked lovely and offbeat when paired with dark brown wedge sandals, and chunky wooden necklace (and, of course, the belt). I'm small chested with a muscular lower half, and found the fit to be quite flattering (a nice rarity!) May 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5áby What color shoes should you wear with this dress? Love this dress but not sure what color shoes to wear with it. Any suggestions? I also read a lot of the other reviews, I am 5'1 and it still looks nice! Just try to get it in a petit size if possible May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Lovely dress So pleased with this dress, wore it to a wedding in a vineyard. May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby Not for Busty with Long Torso! I saw this hanging in the back of the store and was drawn to the print. Another Beauty by Maple that doesn't quite fit me. SIZE: I'm 5'5" tall, 135 lbs, 34D, 35-29-36. I tried on a size 6. FIT: Perfect size. I love this dress so much, but not on me. The combination of high waist, neckline and sleeves made me look wide from the front. The side and back looked perfect though. I adore the knee covering length. I'm probably too old to pull off the 50's vibe. FABRIC: Why make a 100% cotton dress that isn't washable? The fabric feels wonderful on. The additional of pockets is a plus. The drape is perfect. There is no extra annoying poof in the skirt. Maybe its my oversized girls and longer torso that ruin the style of the bodice for me. It appears there are plenty of women that love it. May 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5áby It really is that cute! After reading the reviews, I decided to spend a little more than I normally would and purchase this dress to wear to a wedding. I'm so glad I did! It's very feminine, slimming, and timeless. I followed the lead of a previous reviewer and bought the fisherman's knot belt (also from Anthropologie) to go with it, and it's super cute. You can wear it without a belt, but it adds a focal point. Definitely a winner. June 22, 2012
See more reviews: <<prev 2 3 next>>
BLUE MOTIF Bright blue hydrangea flowers bloom on a retro-inspired, cotton silhouette. From Maple by Some Odd Rubies, the Lower East Side boutique, designers and vintage revivers. Style #:24830853 Flared Anabelle Dress